Didgeridoo

Didgeridoo

The Didgeridoo - A Typical Musical Instrument from Australia

The didgeridoo is believed to have originated in northern Australia, in what is known as Arnhem Land. Here the wind instrument is used for communal music making as well as for ceremonial purposes. Mostly, however, it is only used to accompany chants and is therefore hardly ever used as a solo instrument. At the beginning of the 20th century, it finally came into contact with Western culture for the first time. This led to the fact that by 1950 it was already known throughout Australia. Nowadays the didgeridoo enjoys great popularity all over the world and is often used by multicultural bands as an "exotic instrument" shaping the rhythm and bass. Therefore it has found a permanent place in the instrument line-up of many modern bands of the pop, rock and techno genres.

How to play

The didgeridoo is blown carefully with vibrating lips to extract an aesthetic tone. Several parameters are important for the perfection of the playing technique, such as lip control, the constriction of the mouth, the use of the voice, the movement of the larynx as well as the change of the blowing pressure. The particular breathing technique is characterized by the fact that the fundamental tone can be permanently maintained through continuous circular breathing. This works when we are able to bring an uninterrupted flow of air into the didgeridoo with the mouth and inhale through the nose at the same time. To master this technique, however, specific practice is necessary.

A special playing / breathing technique, which is also used for therapeutic purposes.

Didgeridoo playing is also recommended for therapeutic purposes. Especially in cases of respiratory diseases (e.g. respiratory apnea, chronic bronchitis, mucoviscidosis, etc.), it is possible to achieve considerable improvements in the state of health through targeted training.
Learning the correct way of playing the didgeridoo can be learned in specialized workshops with us. We have been teaching the didgeridoo for more than 25 years.

Dunum: For the love of music and the world

If you want to buy musical instruments (in Switzerland or elsewhere), we would like to be your store of choice. Dunum was born out of the love for music, for sound, for vibration. On countless journeys we got to know many different instruments and sounds, which inspired us and which we would like to share with you now. We want to produce and offer musical instruments of quality and thus win your heart for world music. That's why we brought the diverse sounds from our travels and now pass them on to you. In our store you will find not only gongs, but also sound chimes, wind chimes, didgeridoos, singing bowls and much more. Have fun browsing!

Look for your suitable didgeridoo. In our Music store in Zofingen and/ or in our online store, you have the possibility to try out the instruments or to buy them directly.

Didgeridoo

Didgeridoo

Das Didgeridoo – Ein typisches Musikinstrument aus Australien

Es wird angenommen, dass das Didgeridoo seinen Ursprung im Norden Australiens, im sogenannten Arnhem Land, hat. Hier wird das Blasinstrument sowohl zum gemeinschaftlichen Musizieren als auch für zeremonielle Zwecke genutzt. Meist dient es jedoch nur zur Begleitung von Gesängen und wird daher kaum als Soloinstrument eingesetzt. Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts kam es schliesslich das erste Mal mit der westlichen Kultur in Berührung. Dies führte dazu, dass es 1950 schon in ganz Australien bekannt war. Heutzutage geniesst das Didgeridoo grosse Beliebtheit in aller Welt und wird häufig von multikulturell geprägten Bands als ein den Rhythmus und Bass prägendes "Exoten-Instrument" verwendet. Daher hat es in vielen modernen Bands des Pop, Rock und Techno Genres einen festen Platz im Instrumentenaufgebot gefunden.

Spielweise

Das Didgeridoo wird mit vibrierenden Lippen vorsichtig angeblasen, um einen ästhetischen Ton zu entnehmen. Wichtig für die Perfektion der Spielweise sind mehrere Parameter, wie die Lippenkontrolle, die Verengung des Mundraumes, der Einsatz der Stimme, die Bewegung des Kehlkopfes sowie die Veränderung des Blasedrucks. Die besondere Atemtechnik wird dadurch geprägt, dass durch die andauernde Zirkularatmung der Grundton dauerhaft gehalten werden kann. Dies funktioniert, wenn es uns möglich ist, einen ununterbrochenen Luftstrom mit dem Mund ins Didgeridoo zu bringen und gleichzeitig durch die Nase einzuatmen. Um diese Technik zu beherrschen, ist allerdings gezielte Übung notwendig.

Eine spezielle Spielweise / Atemtechnik, die auch zu therapeutischen Zwecken eingesetzt wird

Das Didgeridoospielen wird auch zu therapeutischen Zwecken empfohlen. Besonders bei Erkrankungen der Atemwege (Bsp: Atemapnoe, chronische Bronchitis, Mukuviszidose etc.) ist es durch gezieltes Training möglich, beachtliche Verbesserungen des Gesundheitszustands zu erzielen.
Das Erlernen der richtigen Spielweise kann in spezialisierten Workshops bei uns erlernt werden. Wir unterrichten das Didgeridoo schon mehr als 25 Jahre.

Dunum: Aus Liebe zur Musik und zur Welt

Wenn Sie Musikinstrumente kaufen möchten (in der Schweiz oder anderswo), möchten wir der Shop Ihrer Wahl sein. Dunum entstand aus der Liebe zur Musik, zum Klang, zur Schwingung. Auf unzähligen Reisen lernten wir viele unterschiedliche Instrumente und Klänge kennen, die uns begeisterten und die wir nun mit Ihnen teilen möchten. Wir wollen Musikinstrumente von Qualität herstellen und anbieten und damit Ihr Herz für Weltmusik gewinnen. Deshalb haben wir die vielfältigen Klänge von unseren Reisen mitgebracht und geben sie nun an Sie weiter. In unserem Shop finden Sie nicht nur Gongs, sondern auch Klangspiele, Windspiele, Didgeridoos, Klangschalen und vieles mehr. Viel Spass beim Stöbern!

Suchen Sie sich Ihr passendes Didgeridoo aus. In unserem Musikgeschäft in Zofingen und/ oder in unserem Online-Shop, haben Sie die Möglichkeit die Instrumente auszuprobieren oder direkt zu kaufen.